Hamlet Council

The Arviat Hamlet Council is made up of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and 7 councilors. Together the council makes decisions and plans on behalf of the residents of Arviat. Hamlet council also represents Arviat on a territorial and national level.

Council holds regular meetings at 7:00pm on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. The public is welcome to attend the council chambers during meetings. If you would like to address the council, you can arrange to include your items on the agenda by contacting the Hamlet of Arviat Council Clerk or SAO. Requests are accepted up to two business days prior to the meeting date.

Mayor: Joe Savikataaq Jr.

Deputy Mayor: Gordy Kidlapik

Councilors: Elizabeth Issakiark, Nathan Caskey, Peter Alareak, Juanita King-Kuksuk, Nataasha Komakjuak, Amanda Main, Doreen Hannak

The Arviat Hamlet Council Clerk can be contacted by phone at (867) 857-2841, by email at councilclerk@arviat.ca, or by mail at P.O. Box 150, Arviat, NU, X0C 0E0.